Montana, Here I Come!

Well, I have to admit that I’m a little off schedule on posting! And it probably will be that way for the next couple of weeks.

Two reasons: this Wednesday is my last day at my old job, and I’ll be spending a few days in Montana. I’ll be doing a lot of driving (or rather riding shotgun), so it’s more of a quick weekend road trip. I’m going to try doing some posting from the road, but I’m sure I won’t be doing any cooking.

Which leads me to reason number two: I start my new job next Monday! I’m very excited, however it’s been a little stress and anxiety inducing. I mean, I haven’t had a new job in a really long time. I’m nervous about all sorts of things–if I’m going to be dressed appropriately, if ill get along with my new coworkers, if I eat something bad the day before and have terrible gas. I’m not sure how early to leave my house and what my commute will be like. What if my shoes give me blisters? It’s just all sorts of things I don’t have to think about right now because, well, there’s no reason to. It’s kind of a big change to go from wearing jeans and T shirts and tennis shoes every day for over eight years to basically wearing a suit!

So yes, getting a new job for me has been a Pretty Big Deal.

Well, I have been cooking a little lately, but nothing too exciting. I did make this macaroni and cheese recipe from the blog Clever, Crafty, Cookin’ Mama. I’m going to say that this is better than a box and I’ll plan on keeping these ingredients handy!

I also gave this tomato basil chicken recipe from the blog Menu Musings of a Modern American Mom. It was pretty good for a quick meal, especially since I’ve been so stuck on pasta lately.

Aaaaand this interesting article about chefs’ favorite gadgets was a welcome read in my news feed this morning. I was intrigued by the grater, as I only have used mine for lemon zest and ginger. I’ve started thinking of all the other useful things to do with it! Knives, the garlic press and the lemon squeezer are also pretty high on my personal list of must-have gadgets in the kitchen. I’m also pretty sure that I need a set of measured ice cream scoops now!

I hope everyone has a fantastic week and hopefully I’ll be doing some road trip posting soon!!

20130722-181313.jpg

One response to “Montana, Here I Come!

Leave a Reply

